2.5 V6 - How to bleed the coolant system - MG-Rover.org Forums

Go Back   MG-Rover.org Forums > Model Specific Forums > MG ZT / Rover 75 (Sponsored by Rimmer Bros)

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-04-2008, 09:07   #1
howard-moore

Car: Rover 75, MGF and BMW 325i Convertible (E30)
2.5 V6 - How to bleed the coolant system

Hi,

This is a question rather than a walkthrough I'm afraid. I have read lots of posts about water gurgling on revving etc., and whilst the heater matrix may be something to do with it, most seem to recommend getting the air out of the system too.

What I would like to know is, for the complete novice, how to bleed the air out of the coolant system. I can't believe that the only way is to run the car with the filler cap off?

I know it's a big ask, but could someone perhaps put a photo of the engine bay of a V6 and point out what valves do what, and what we should do to bleed the system?

Many thanks in advance.
Neil
howard-moore is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-04-2008, 09:29   #2
courier118

Car: MG ZT190+
The only way to rid the coolant system of any air is to have to system vacuum filled.........you really should not refill the coolant system any other way.Do a search on vacuum refill mate
courier118 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-04-2008, 09:45   #3
howard-moore

I've searched for 'VACUUM REFILL', but I can't seem to find anywhere that describes actually how to do it - only that it has to be done.

Can anyone tell me where there is a 'how to' on how to vacuum fill (or put one here?

Old 03-04-2008, 11:09   #4
courier118

Car: MG ZT190+